top of page
Search

My Journey

A short story about why, when and how I started my health coach career.





Why



As any chocaholic’s dream job would be chocolate tasting, mine was too. Luckily I got to live the dreams of millions. In 2011, I joined Mars Corporation, where I was a part of the sensory panel and quality assurance team.

I used to taste a variety of chocolate (you heard it right, I was paid to taste chocolate) and ice-cream brands for their shelf life and tested lines of new products which were planned on being introduced to a new market. This job was unreal but I definitely enjoyed every single moment. 



Unfortunately, the job played a major role in me receiving distressing news a year later. In 2012, I realised I was gaining weight despite taking care of my diet, so went to see a doctor and I was diagnosed with Insulin Resistance. My Doctor recommended me to take medicines to control the condition from worsening as I was at a pre-diabetic stage. I was devastated, felt like crap. I was always the healthiest child of my family and used to hate medicine but now I was bound to take so many pills daily. The doctor suggested that if I improved my lifestyle, then there is a  chance of reversing my health condition. At that time it seemed impossible, however I was determined and started becoming more conscious about my diet and lifestyle choices.


After 2 years of consistent improvements to my lifestyle,  in 2014, I was able to completely terminate the dependence on medicines like Glucophage. This was a major milestone in my life and I am really proud of myself.


How

We moved to Singapore in 2015. After reversing my condition, I felt I had a responsibility towards my community and that I could help others as I had Masters degree in Nutrition and Biochemistry. I decided to pursue a certification in ’Nutritional Therapy’ in 2016.  By the end of the course I discovered that not only did I have a passion for improving lifestyle through nutrition, but I enjoy coaching and guiding people too. One of my friends recommended me to make it as a career as I enjoy improving overall wellbeing through self-empowerment and implementing change within individuals. So I did my research and started a Health Coach Certification by the Institute of Integrative Nutrition.


I successfully passed and earned the Holistic Health Coach Certification. Last year, we moved to Dubai and it was the first year of my official Health Coach career. So far, I have helped many individuals to establish and maintain healthy lifestyles by offering classes and personalised one to one sessions. 


I have been off medication for the last 5 years. I am feeling much healthier and well than ever.





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page